Select Page

30-Day Challenge

The 30-day challenge is four weeks of Monday thru Friday short videos about cybersecurity. Week one is all about why we should care about cybersecurity. Week two has how-to tips. Week three has policy guidance, and week four has stuff that didn’t fit anywhere else.

I originally delivered these live, and here are the titles with links to a page with each one. I want to thank Lara Helmling for the coaching to put all this together.

Week one – why care about cybersecurity?

Monday, Feb. 25, 2019 – Does your heart skip a beat when you buy online? You don’t need to be a cybervictim.

Tuesday, Feb. 26, 2019 – How a former Whitehouse Chief of Staff gave away his email password to the Russians. Why the FBI shouldn’t care, but you should care.

Wednesday, Feb. 27, 2019 – Why the Department of Homeland Security won’t protect us from bad guys over the internet

Thursday, Feb. 28, 2019 – Our credit reporting system is an identity theft waiting to happen. Here’s why.

Friday, March 1, 2019 – Cybersafety: Care and share to be prepared. Why should we share? Watch and find out.

Week two – how-to

Monday, March 4, 2019 – The credit reporting system is an identity theft waiting to happen. Here’s how to fix it.

Tuesday, March 5, 2019 – One of the scariest types of spam is phishing. Discover how to spot a phishy email a mile away.

Wednesday, March 6, 2019 – Questions you should ask when shopping for smart home appliances.

Thursday, March 7, 2019 – How to deploy that smart home appliance you bought

Friday, March 8, 2019 – How to figure out what’s wrong if you have internet trouble

Week three – policy

Monday, March 11, 2019 – Should government regulate encryption? Watch and find out.

Tuesday, March 12, 2019 – Why social media is bad

Wednesday, March 13, 2019 – Why social media is good

Thursday, March 14, 2019 – Why we should all wake up at 3 AM and worry about net neutrality

Friday, March 15, 2019 – Should government regulate social media companies?

Week four – stuff that didn’t fit earlier

Sunday, March 17, 2019 – Communicating with tech people

Monday, March 18, 2019 – Hollywood hackers; who comes up with this stuff?

Tuesday, March 19, 2019 – A retro way to steal somebody’s identity for fun and profit

Wednesday, March 20, 2019 – Time to man up and swallow my pride

Thursday, March 21, 2019 – Sometimes, it’s not a cyberattack

Friday, March 22, 2019 – The cybersecurity arms race